A short film from Jerusalem

Blog, Video Production

Bismillah

I’m back now from Jerusalem. It was an amazing experience but it’s great to be back, with my wife, daughter and the whole family. It’s also great to be back because it means I can start editing a surprise personal project I was able to shoot whilst out there.

When I was first offered to go to Jerusalem to film and photograph I knew straight away I wanted to spend some of the time out there to create a short doc of some kind to ‘contribute’ to the dialogue on the Palestinian situation. I had no contacts in Israel/Palestine, barely any time and no ideas on what I could possibly create either, so the initial prospect of making my film became very bleak. Towards the end of the trip when most of my main duties had ended some time became available but I still hadn’t figured out what I would make. On a shopping walk in the souk, whilst looking for stuff for my little girl I walked by a small jewellery shop. Inside I caught a glimpse of a man putting away an old film SLR. Without thinking I bee lined for him, and asked him if I could take a picture of it. It was a Mamiya RZ67 Pro II. I’d never seen one in real life before. I explained to him that I took pictures too, and before long we were discussing photography and he told me he’d been a military journalist and war photographer for over 30 years!

That’s how I found the subject of my documentary. Completely by fate! Seriously can’t wait to release it, but I want to do justice to the film so it’ll take me a few days to polish it up and share it with the world! As soon as it’s edited I’ll post an accompanying blog too.

To keep up to date with it you can keep an eye on my vimeo page http://www.vimeo.com/jubair and also on twitter https://twitter.com/SafiyyahsDad where it’s very likely I’ll tweet about it too!

Leave a Reply

